Starting Over With 46G: Day 1

I’ve been pretty busy since I wrote my last blog post, but I had a little bit of time to research idols! 46G seemed like a good place to start. I never followed them closely (I was more of a 48G fan), but I’ve heard they have the best variety right now and I’d like to have some regular variety shows to watch.

I used to be interested in Ito Marika, but she graduated quite a while back. Fortunately, the other 46G member who caught my eye, Yakubo Mio, is still active!

I remember enjoying her early SHOWROOM streams and when I found out the extent of her underground idol fandom, she really won me over. I never would have expected to hear Jyujyu’s name on a 46G show!

I sort of followed the Sakamichi Joint Audition, so I recognized some of the other names as well. I knew Kitagawa Yuri was from California, but I didn’t know that Seimiya Rei lived in California too. Seems like the 46G English abilities are strong!

Aside from Yakubo Mio, Fujiyoshi Karin stood out to me lookswise from the Sakamichi Joint Audition.

Apparently she’s doing pretty well for herself, since I was sent the most recent Sakurazaka46 A-side MV, where she is center.

I enjoyed the song more than I thought I would – it might be in the lower half of the top 10 46G A-Sides I’ve heard. Dramatic from start to finish with some great bass, strings, and piano parts. I still found myself interested in Karin, but these girls also stood out to me.

Apparently their names are Uemura Rina and Morita Hikaru.

I spent part of my work day listening to some of the other new Sakurazaka and Nogizaka releases from this year. Nothing stood out to me too much, but it was a very pleasant soundtrack nonetheless.

In terms of music, a FRUITS ZIPPER song autoplayed for me that I really enjoyed!

I’ve always had a weakness for happy, orthodox idol songs and this is one of the best ones I’ve heard in a while.

I don’t really know anything about the group, but I’ve heard the name before and get the impression they’re pretty big (their Spotify stream numbers also add to this impression). Based on the song, I assume they have a Harajuku theme. Isn’t Zipper a fashion magazine?

Anyway, I’m getting pretty tired, so it’s time to answer these burning questions tomorrow.

If you’re reading this and have any idol content you’d like to pass my way, let me know!

Leave a comment