A New Chapter

Hey everyone, it’s Brita!

It’s been a long time, hasn’t it?

I’ve been away from the idol community for a while. Honestly, that was probably what I needed. I started as a Hello! Project and 48G fan, went deeper and deeper down the rabbit hole, moved to Japan, spent a little over a year in Japan devoting my life to the underground idol scene, spent longer than that trying to go back to Japan, then realized that probably wasn’t the most sensible choice for me.

For a while, being an idol fan was painful. It felt like a constant reminder that I wasn’t in Japan, that I couldn’t be there for all of the exciting performances, milestones, and graduations.

A lot has changed. Instead of moving to Japan, I moved from Minnesota to Southern California. I have a job that I’m pretty happy with and other hobbies that I’ve been focusing my time on.

Now that I’ve taken some time away, I realized that I’d like to get back into the idol fandom. I might not be able to spend more than a week or two in Japan a year, but hey, I started supporting idols fully online and California gets a lot more events than Minnesota!

Pretty much all of the idols I’ve supported have graduated. A lot of the groups I enjoyed have disbanded. While I still want to shine the spotlight on smaller idols and groups that I think deserve it, I’m going to try to get into some larger groups again too.

So here comes my project:

Brita’s Idol Exploration Diary!

What idol groups do you like in the year 2023? Why do you like them? What songs, performances, videos, members, variety shows, livestreams, or anything else do you recommend?

I’m going to start exploring and I’m excited to hear any recommendations. Now’s your chance to see a reaction to your favorites and give them some time in the spotlight! Like I said, I’ve been out of the scene, so popular or niche, alt-idol or orthodox idol, whatever it may be, I want to check it out!

I’m going to try to make a post a day. It may be short, it may be long, but I’ll try to stay consistent. Of course, if there’s any events coming up in Southern California, I would love to cover them as well.

Good night everyone and happy idoling!

Leave a comment